Connect with us


Brooks: Corporate Executives Celebrated at Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony



CH HeadlineNews.svg

Article content

The Alberta Business Hall of Fame honors the most valued leaders in every industry in southern Alberta for their achievements and service to the economy, the community and our future.

The list of inductees reads like a who’s who, and this year’s 18th annual, presented by ATB and JA Southern Alberta, honored five distinguished and accomplished individuals. Congratulations to Elizabeth Cannon, Wayne and Eleanor Chiu, Nancy Knowlton and the family of the late Charlie Fischer.

Article content

Cannon is a professor emeritus at the University of Calgary after serving as president and vice chancellor from 2010 to 2018. Her list of achievements and awards is long, not least the Johannes Kepler Award and the Gold Medal Award from Engineers Canada. In 2019, Cannon was named an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Trico Homes / Trico Group of Companies Co-founders Wayne and Eleanor Chiu will have to expand their award shelves as the dynamic couple has recently been honored with numerous awards, including the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee and Alberta Centennial Medals; Immigrant of Distinction Award; Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award; Calgary Influential Women in Business Award; and Canada’s most admired CEO.

Article content

Nancy Knowlton is the president and CEO of Nureva Inc., which she co-founded in 2014 with her husband David Martin. Before that, the couple built the global technology brand SMART Technologies, which placed interactive whiteboards in millions of classrooms and boardrooms worldwide. Knowlton’s numerous awards include Canadian Woman Entrepreneur of the Year and the C21 Shifting Minds National Award. Last February, the couple received the prestigious Meritorious Service Decoration (Civil Division).

Our oil and gas sector owes much of its success to the late Charlie Fischer. TransCanada Pipelines and Nexen wouldn’t be the mega-companies they are if it weren’t for Fischer’s leadership and vision. Fischer was honored as the Canadian Energy Person of the Year in 2009. He has also received the prestigious Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship, the Haskayne School of Business Distinguished Leader Award and numerous other honors.

Article content

Relatives, colleagues, former inductees and hundreds of guests were in attendance at the Hyatt Regency Oct. 6, including Melissa From, president and CEO of JA Southern Alberta; past honorary member Jim Gray (2004) with Patti Grier; former honorary member David Werklund (2013) with wife Susan Norman; Bob Harris of Centron; Sean Lippitt of Canada’s Western Bank; Marshall Toner, Executive Vice President JLL Commercial Real Estate; Mike Rose and his wife Sue Riddell Rose; Heather Culbert; Ron Mathison; 2016 Honoree Cal Wenzel with wife Edith and their son Shane and grandson Sebastian; 2013 honored Bob Brawn and his wife Carole; representing her late husband Charlie Fischer, Joanne Cuthbertson, principal funder of the Chancellor Cuthbertson Center for Student Success; 2021 Ron Mannix and Mike Tims Awards; 2019 Honored Jay Westman; dr. Chen Fong, Honorary Prize 2018; 2005 Honored Dick Haskayne; 2016 Honoré Mac Van Wielingen; Jeff Boyd of RBC; and others depicted.

Congratulations to this year’s award winners. You make our city proud.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *